Natural satellites information


As you know, natural satellites are celestial bodies. They revolve around a planet, also called the main body. So far, 173 satellites are known in the Solar System. They can orbit a planet or a smaller body. These satellites orbit around 6 of the 8 planets in the Solar System, Venus and Mercury have no satellites, there are about 80 satellites in the asteroid belt and there are over 200 satellites of smaller bodies. And about 150 celestial bodies resembling satellites have been seen but not approved as satellites in Saturn's rings. 

The Galilean satellites are the satellites discovered by Galileo Galilei, these are 4 of Jupiter's satellites, called: Ganymede, Calisto, Io and Europa.